French Savoir-Faire

  • Stéphanie Delmotte

    Spécialisation

IPAG’s French Savoir-Faire research chair was founded in 2018 to analyse international perception of made in France products and contributes to their international image.

Telling the world about France’s economic success
French companies and the French economy have a long and great history. Yet, France fails to draw on its economic success story in order to increase its international attractiveness. Its strengths are certainly recognised, and strategic ingenuity, excellence in mathematics, general culture and attention to detail are today perceived as essential parts of French savoir-faire. However, unlike Germany’s Deutsche Qualit?t or the United States’ American Dream, France’s French Touch does not have a clear, attractive and reassuring brand identity. Its spirit of innovation, idealism, generosity and glamour is not properly communicated through a federative concept.

Building a genuine French brand
IPAG established its French Savoir-Faire research chair in 2018 to contribute to addressing this challenge. The chair, which is headed by economist economist Jean-Hervé Lorenzi and directed by Franck Dedieu – professor at IPAG, former Deputy Editor-in-Chief of L’Expansion –, monitors and analyses the international perception of France as a major player in the economic globalisation.

What are France’s key strengths and weaknesses? What are its singularities? How are major French groups perceived from abroad? To which successes and values is France most frequently associated with? Monitoring these indicators in nearly 150 countries will allow the chair to create a French brand barometer. Each year, it will assess the international outreach of France, as well as the stability and confidence it inspires as a business actor.

The chair will also develop economic policy and business strategy recommendations with the aim of contributing to the emergence of a genuine discussion about the French brand. Finally, it will encourage the sharing of experience between companies and political decision-makers through its scientific publications and its high-level conferences and seminars.

Activities

The Chair extends a long tradition of public interest launched in 1965 by the founder of IPAG, Jacques Rueff, economist and academician. Mandated by General Charles de Gaulle, he participated in the renewal of French industrial landscape. Today, the necessity to adapt French economy to a new technological environment arises again. With this Chair, IPAG Business School has decided to meet the challenge with its partners willing to reconcile performance, equity and civic engagement.

Jean Hérvé Lorenzi
President of Cercle des Economistes
Fran?ois-Xavier Albouy
Research Director
Chaired by Jean Hérvé Lorenzi, President of Cercle des Economistes, the Chair is supported by the endowment fund of IPAG Business School, strongly engaged in research (around 120 scientific publications per year that makes the school the third laboratory of Grandes Ecoles de Management in France taking place in Shanghai Ranking). The Scientific Team of the Chair will be directed by Franck Dedieu, Researcher at IPAG Business School, who will lead the Scientific Direction together with Dr Fran?ois-Xavier Albouy, Research Director.

Partners

Events

View all

French Savoir-Faire

  • Stéphanie Delmotte

    Spécialisation

Lancée en 2018, la chaire French Savoir-Faire de l’IPAG analyse la perception de la marque France dans le monde. Elle contribue ainsi à renforcer son attractivité internationale.

Pour un récit économique fran?ais
Les entreprises et l’économie fran?aises sont les héritières d’une grande histoire. Et pourtant, la France ne s’appuie sur aucun récit économique pour développer son attractivité dans le monde. Ses points forts sont certes reconnus : ingéniosité stratégique, excellence mathématique, culture générale et sens du détail sont aujourd’hui per?us comme des composantes essentielles du savoir-faire fran?ais. Mais, contrairement à la Deutsche Qualit?t allemande ou à l’American Dream d’outre-Atlantique, la French Touch n’a pas d’identité de marque claire, attractive et rassurante. Ce qu’elle emporte d’esprit innovation, d’idéalisme, de générosité ou encore de glamour n’est pas transmis à travers un concept fédérateur.

Batir une véritable marque France
Lancée en 2018, la chaire French Savoir-Faire de l’IPAG contribue à relever ce défi. Présidée par l’économiste Jean-Hervé Lorenzi et dirigée par Franck Dedieu – professeur à l’IPAG, ancien rédacteur en chef adjoint de L’Expansion –, la chaire recueille et analyse la fa?on dont la France est per?ue à l’étranger en tant qu’acteur économique de la mondialisation.

Quelles sont les forces et les faiblesses de la France ? Ses singularités ? Comment les grands groupes fran?ais sont-ils per?us à l’international ? à quelles réussites et quelles valeurs la France est-elle le plus fréquemment associée ? Le suivi de ces indicateurs dans près de 150 pays permettra à la chaire de créer un baromètre de la marque France. Actualisé chaque année, il mesurera la solidité, le rayonnement et la confiance qu’inspire la France en tant qu’acteur de business dans le monde.

La chaire élaborera également des recommandations de politique économique et de stratégie d’entreprise pour contribuer à faire émerger un véritable discours de marque fran?ais. Elle favorisera enfin le partage d’expériences entre entreprises et décideurs politiques, que ce soit à travers des publications scientifiques ou des conférences et des séminaires de haut niveau.

Contact
John Palacin, Conseiller Régional d'Occitanie, Consultant et élu, Conseiller Politique du Ministre, M. Arnaud Montebourg.

E-mail: [email protected]

Activities

La Chaire prolonge une longue tradition d'intérêt public lancée en 1965 par le fondateur de l'IPAG, Jacques Rueff, économiste et académicien. Mandaté par le général Charles de Gaulle, il a participé au renouvellement du paysage industriel fran?ais. Aujourd'hui, la nécessité d'adapter l'économie fran?aise à un nouvel environnement technologique se fait à nouveau sentir. Avec cette Chaire, l'IPAG Business School a décidé de relever le défi avec ses partenaires désireux de concilier performance, équité et engagement citoyen.

Jean Hérvé Lorenzi
Président du Cercle des économistes
Fran?ois-Xavier Albouy
Directeur de recherche

Présidée par Jean Hérvé Lorenzi, Président du Cercle des Economistes, la Chaire est soutenue par le fonds de dotation de l'IPAG Business School, fortement engagé dans la recherche (environ 120 publications scientifiques par an qui font de l'école le troisième laboratoire des Grandes Ecoles de Management en France se situant dans le classement de Shanghai). L'équipe scientifique de la Chaire sera dirigée par Franck Dedieu, chercheur à l'IPAG Business School, qui assurera la direction scientifique avec le Dr Fran?ois-Xavier Albouy, directeur de recherche.

Partners

Evène-
ments

Tout voir